The first ever Sylhet Film Festival with it’s moto ‘Encourage Independent Filmmaking’ started from 14th March, 2017. The inauguration was held in Sylhet Agricultural University, a beautiful campus in Sylhet. It was a three-day program organized by Sylhet Agricultural University Film Society. Total 2052 films were submitted in different categories from 66 different countries. From them 70 short and full length films were screened in Sylhet Agricultural University campus. Bangladeshi filmmaker Muktadir Ibna Salam and Ishtiaque Zico were jury members and Famous film critics and writer of Indian subcontinent Premendra Mazumdar was chief advisor of 1st Sylhet Film Festival. Guests and audiences from all over the country enjoyed the festival and praised the organizer to provide a platform for independent filmmakers.
The festival ended with an ending and prize giving ceremony at the evening of 16th March in Sylhet Agricultural University. Foretime Vice Chancellor of Sylhet Agricultural University Prof. Dr. Golam Shahi Alam, Bangladeshi Filmmaker Muktadir Ibna Salam, Foretime Director of Students Welfare and Advisor section Prof. Dr. Motiar Rahman Hawladar, foretime proctor Prof. Dr. Mritunay Bishwas, foretime Director of Finance section Prof. Dr. Jiban Krishna Saha, Assistant Prof. Partha Pratim Barmon and Ajay Kumar Saha, Lecturer Shermin Akter were guests at that evening.
Best Short Film (Bangladeshi): A letter to God by, Best Short Film (International): From inside by Ramy Gabry, Best Documentary: Paper Plans by Nahid-ud-Zaman, Best Short Film (Child Filmmakers Section): Journey by Radheya Jegatheva were awarded in that ceremony. Besides, Baka Hawa, Friction, Bakshobondi from Bangladesh, Hoyto Kobitar Jonyo from India, 4242 from Portugal also received awards in other different categories. Russian center of Science & Culture, Aitizza Film Society, Bangla Tribune, Film Freeway, Sylnet IT & Billiard zone provided support and corporation for the festival.

Official Selection

Honorable Jury Board

Chief Festival Adviser

Premendra Mazumder

Film Festival Consultant & Curator

Award Winners

Best short film (Bangladeshi): A Letter to God

Best short film (International): From Inside (Egypt)

Best short film (Children Film Maker Section): Journey (Australia)

Best Documentary: Paper Planes (Bangladesh)

Best Editing: Bakshobondi(Bangladesh)

Best Script: In Poetic Hue(India)

Best Cinematography: A Vagabond wind (Bangladesh)

Best Actor: Adnan Mehedee Khan from Frinction(Bangladesh)

Best Actress: Cristina Caldararu from 4242(Portugal)

Partners & Sponsors